Going strong

Sooo, this is my first update on my Road to Self Improvement and boy, was I busy! I’m still pretty happy and energized even though the feeling has subsided a little. I’m still trying to maintain the gained momentum and so far it does work. After a little more than a month I already started seeing results and it feels amazing. Everytime I figure out something new or notice a positive change I know that it’s worth my effort. But let me go into detail:

I set up an app in order to be able to track my activity loosely. It’s called “weekly” and is really easy to operate. I basically just typed in my productive goals – everytime I practise something I go into the app afterwards and check the goal myself so I can actually see what I trained the most, on which days I am the most productive and so on… It’s really useful and motivating if you look back at all the past training sessions =) According to the app and not surprisingly the most practice I do is singing and sports.

So let’s look at them more closely, shall we?

Sports: I did a 30 day challenge and tried to hold myself to it, except when I really didn’t have time because I was meeting up with someone and spent the whole day outside. A week ago the challenge has ended but I am still trying to go strong, having started another one. I can already see changes on my body. I haven’t lost any weight (which isn’t my goal anyway) but rather gained some muscles.

Singing: My favorite hobby, so no surprise. After less than two weeks I could not only hear but feel positive changes in my voice. There’s still a lot of room for improvement but holy cow, I am hitting notes I have never ever dreamed of hitting before! Also I feel like my voice is getting more reliable so it’s even more fun to try out new songs. I try to do this five times a week – depending on how my voice feels for 20 to 30 minutes. Had I known how little effort this takes… I would have started sooner. MUCH sooner… It brings me so much joy…

Dancing: I finally learned how to do a proper body roll ^^” Also I’m learning different choreographies to my favorite kpop songs and I’m still surprised that after some practise it doesn’t even look that bad. It’s weird because I always feel far too self aware while dancing even in clubs. There’s always that little voice that tells me ‘don’t do that, you might look stupid.’ or ‘as long as you don’t move too much you’re fine. Remember that.’ But so far I found that even in the mirror those learned moves don’t look half as bad. The hardest part is just trying them out and allowing yourself to fail before figuring them out. It’s really hard for me to coordinate four limbs at the same time by only following a video of a few guys dancing the same choreography perfectly. But admittedly I have much more body control than I expected and if it weren’t for me allowing myself to watch myself fail I would have never figured this out.

Playing the guitar: I…well…let’s just say I was occupied with everything else? I played two or three times. Not more, nothing has changed. Yet.

Korean: I know how to build the tenses and how to negate, sentence structure and I am getting better at reading Hangeul. It’s definitely getting easier and this will allow me to learn vocabs so much faster than before. I am still getting hyped when I finally understand something that’s said in a drama or interview.

Well, I believe that’s all? Like I said – still going strong. Still doing my best. I’m confident that slowly but surely I will reach my goals and I honestly can’t wait for it. But I gotta admit… Seeing those small improvements is amazing and I wouldn’t want to miss that. Ever. 2020. Let’s see how far I can go.

Until the next update – take good care!

– signed A

Leave a comment